I love this recipe. Any recipe that allows the batter to sit in the fridge for up to two weeks is fanTASTIC by me. We’ve eaten these muffins dozens of times, and every time I switch it up with great success. The result, every time, has been perfect. The best part about this recipe is that you don’t have to make it all at once. Feels like a warm breakfast kind of morning? Heat up your oven, plop the batter into the desired number of muffin cups, and you’re set!

I discovered this recipe a while ago when reading King Arthur Flour’s awesome blog. My grandfather, who is a big baker, mentioned them to me and I’ve had great success with many of their recipes. This is one I continue coming back to, again and again. I scoured the comments on both the blog and the main recipe site for successful changes people made to the recipe. I wanted a healthier, slightly less sweet version than what they had, but not one that completely crossed over to the “superfood” side.

Feel free to add whatever dried fruits (or none at all!) you prefer to this recipe — I’ve added dried cherries, dried apricots, golden and regular raisins, dried cranberries and even dried figs on top. I’ve also fussed with the types of flour used — sometimes I use all white whole wheat, sometimes I split all-purpose flour and whole wheat flour, and sometimes I go with straight all-purpose. Again, up to you. In this version, I cut the sugar and oil down, and added applesauce.

Two Week Bran Muffins
adapted from King Arthur Flour

1 cup boiling water
1 cup bran cereal (buds or twigs); or 1 3/4 cups bran flakes
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup applesauce
2 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 to 1 1/2 cups cup dried fruit (I used golden raisins and dried cranberries this time)
2 large eggs
2 cups buttermilk
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 cups bran cereal (buds or twigs); or 3 1/2 cups bran flakes

In heatproof bowl, pour boiling water over 1 cup bran cereal. Set aside until cool (roughly 30-45 minutes).

While cereal mixture cools, combine flour, baking soda and salt into a large mixing bowl. Stir in dried fruit.

Add vegetable oil and applesauce to cooled cereal mixture. In another bowl, whisk together eggs, buttermilk and white/brown sugar. Add this to flour mixture and combine. Stir in remaining dried cereal and, finally, add water/bran/oil mixture to everything and combine well.

Place batter in large plastic container, cover, and let sit overnight.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly spray or grease muffin cups and fill in as many cups as desired. Batter can sit in fridge for up to two weeks. Fill cups with approximately 1/4 cup batter and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

Remove muffins from oven and extract from cups, allowing them to cool on a wire rack for a few minutes. Try not to fit whole muffin in your mouth once you realize how delicious they are!

Look at those perfect little nooks and crannies!

